Notice Regarding COVID-19 and the Operation of Commercial Cannabis Businesses
Bureau licensees may continue to operate at this time.
License Renewal Fee Deferrals and Disaster Relief Request Instructions
Licensees may request license renewal fee deferrals and relief from requirements in the Bureau's regulations.
Welcome to the Bureau of Cannabis Control
The Bureau of Cannabis Control (Bureau) is the lead agency in regulating commercial cannabis licenses for medical and adult-use cannabis in California. The Bureau is responsible for licensing retailers, distributors, testing laboratories, microbusinesses, and temporary cannabis events.
Latest News & Announcements
SACRAMENTO, CA – The three state cannabis licensing authorities announced today that businesses with state commercial cannabis licenses expiring between now through June 30, 2020 may request 60-day deferrals of their license fee payments. This adds financial assistance to the relief provided to licensees from specific regulatory requirements...
Sacramento, CA – Today, the Governor's Office of Business and Economic Development (GO-Biz), in partnership with the Bureau of Cannabis Control, announced $30 million in grant funding through the Cannabis Equity Grants Program for Local Jurisdictions...
SACRAMENTO – On Thursday, March 19, 2020 Governor Gavin Newsom issued a stay at home order to protect the health and well-being of all Californians and to establish a consistent approach across the state to slow the spread of COVID-19. This order went into effect on Thursday, March 19, 2020, and is in place until further notice...
Beginning March 1, 2020, cannabis retailers may provide free cannabis or cannabis products to qualified medicinal patients or their primary caregivers. This change is due to the adoption of Senate Bill 34, which also exempts these donated items from excise, sales and use, and cultivation taxes...
SACRAMENTO – The Bureau of Cannabis Control (Bureau) announced today that it has submitted proposed emergency cannabis regulations to the Office of Administrative Law (OAL). These proposed regulations would make it mandatory for cannabis businesses to post their unique Quick Response Code (QR Code) certificate in storefront windows and carry it with them while transporting or delivering cannabis...
Get #weedwise Campaign
The Bureau of Cannabis Control recently announced the launch of a statewide public information program, “Get #weedwise”, encouraging consumers to only purchase cannabis from licensed businesses and warning unlicensed businesses to become licensed.
Check a Cannabis License
You can search for state licensed cannabis businesses by using the BCC’s Online License Search system. Users may conduct their own custom searches by inserting a legal business name, license number/type, or location into the search criteria.
Your Questions Answered
You asked, and we answered! Check out our “Your Questions Answered” database page containing over 100 answers to the most commonly-asked questions about the cannabis regulatory structure in California. Responses are organized and tagged by category.
Bureau Meetings & Events
The Bureau of Cannabis Control regularly schedules meetings, workshops, public hearings, and other events for those interested in becoming involved in California’s regulated cannabis industry. Public participation and attendance is welcomed at these events.
Laws & Regulations
California’s three cannabis licensing authorities have published regulations for the state’s commercial cannabis industry. The Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (MAUCRSA) creates the general framework for the regulation of commercial medicinal and adult-use cannabis in California.